Denis Classification

Denis defined four types of spinal fractures:

  • Wedge fracture (stable)
  • Burst fracture (stable)
  • Seat belt fracture (unstable)
  • Fracture dislocation (unstable)

Denis also divided the spine into three columns:

  • The anterior column (anterior longitudunal ligament plus the anterior half of the vertebral body)
  • The middle column (the posterior half of the vertebral body plus the posterior longitudunal ligament)
  • The posterior column (the pedicles, facet joints, plus the supraspinous ligaments)
  • Instability results if there is disruption of two or more of these columns

Further details are available at Spine Universe and the GPNotebook.

Search the site


Cookie Crumb Trail

  1. Home
  2. / Scores Grades and Classifications
  3. / Denis Classification
Specialty Interests